In 2007, I was diagnosed with skin cancer. Thankfully, all I needed was minor surgery and the cancer didn’t spread. I’m not a sunbather on account of my fair skin but for years, I had used artificial lotion and spray-on tanners. I wondered if there was a connection so I stopped using the fake tan, switched to natural skin lotion and discovered the beauty of mineral makeup.

Conventional makeup contains artificial chemicals, which can irritate skin and cause breakouts. Its additives have even been linked to cancer.

There are many benefits to the use of mineral makeup. It feels light on the skin and doesn’t clog pores. In most cases, even those with sensitive skin can comfortably wear it. Mineral makeup hides blemishes, dark circles and fine lines by reflecting the sun’s rays and gives skin a healthy, natural glow. And unlike conventional makeup, mineral makeup is inorganic, which means microbes and bacteria cannot live in the makeup and be transferred to the skin.

Another added benefit to the use of mineral makeup is the natural UVA and UVB protection (zinc and magnesium) that some brands provide.  

I personally enjoy using Sun Cat Naturals mineral makeup. She’s a private business owner who makes all the makeup herself.  

There are a lot of great brands of mineral makeup out there. Give them a try. Your skin will thank you!

For more information on healing your body naturally, visit: www.itoldyouiwassick.com.

 

photo © Trine de Florie

This article is intellectual property © Jaime A. Heidel 2010

All Rights Reserved

